Michigan Green Schools – SE MI Tri-County Group


 

2111 Pontiac Lake Road
Waterford, MI 48328
Contact: Karen Crawford
Phone: 248.209.2550
Karen.crawford@oakland.k12.mi.us
www.oakland.k12.mi.us/MIGreenSchools

Organization’s History

This program began as a grassroots initiative at Hartland High School in Livingston County in 2005.  This effort resulted in Governor Jennifer Granholm signing Public Act 146 into law in May of 2006.  The Michigan Green Schools Program encourages public and private schools to participate in environmentally friendly and energy savings activities.

To be designated a Michigan Green School, a school must complete ten of twenty energy saving and environmentally friendly points listed in the Michigan Green Schools Act.  Schools wishing to extend their efforts and complete fifteen or twenty points may earn a higher status.  Information about the program including the application and the list of twenty points is available on our websites (by county) at:

Macomb: http://www.macombcountymi.gov/macomb_gov/GreenSchools.htm
Oakland:  www.oakland.k12.mi.us/MIGreenSchools
Wayne:    http://www.waynecounty.com/doe_wqm_res_greenschools.htm

Award Levels

  • A school achieving 10 of the 20 listed activities can apply to be designated a Michigan Green School.
  • A school achieving 15 of the listed activities can apply to be designated a Michigan Emerald School.
  • A school completing 20 of the listed activities can apply to be designated a Michigan Evergreen School.

Awards will be given out in the Spring for each school year.

Michigan Green Schools Macomb List
Michigan Green Schools Oakland List
Michigan Green Schools Wayne List

Contact Information and Email Addresses:

Macomb:
Carol Jones, ISD, cjones@misd.net
Patti Dib, Board of Commissioners, Patti.Dib@macombcountymi.gov

Oakland :
Debby Dunn, ISD, debby.dunn@oakland.k12.mi.us
Whitney Calio, Oakland County, caliow@oakgov.com

Wayne:
Nancy Gregor, Wayne County Dept. of Environment, ngregor@co.wayne.mi.us

In The News…